Get News Fast

5 non-permanent members of the UN Security Council were elected

The UN General Assembly elected 5 new non-permanent members to the Security Council for the period 2025-26.

– International news

According to the international group Tasnim news agency, Anatoly Rooz Somalia, Pakistan, Panama, Greece and Denmark won General Assembly elections for non-permanent seats on the Security Council, reported Thursday.

According to this According to the report, Somalia 197, Pakistan 182, Panama 183, Greece 182 and Denmark 184 voted and won the two-thirds vote for membership.

These countries replaced Ecuador, Japan, Mozambique, Switzerland and Malta, which held the rotating presidency of the Security Council, became the selected countries from January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2026 as non-permanent members. The Security Council will serve.

Electing the UAE as a non-permanent member of the Security Council

Pakistan has previously been a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council seven times, Panama five times, Denmark four times, Greece twice and Somalia once .

In the Security Council, which has five permanent members China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States, 10 non-permanent members are also elected for two-year terms. Five non-permanent member countries are elected every year. One seat was allocated to the Latin American and Caribbean group and two seats to the European group.

Candidates must win two-thirds of the votes, which is equivalent to 129 votes out of a total of 193 members of the assembly. It is public.

end of message/


© Webangah News Hub has translated this news from the source of Tasnim News Agency
free zones of Iran, heaven for investment | 741 investment packages in Iran's free zones | With a capacity of over 158 billion dollars Safe investment in the Islamic Republic of Iran

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four + eight =

Back to top button